FR EN DE ES IT PT
Browse forums 
Ankama Trackers

Obvious Launcher Bug (Mac OS X 10.15.1)

By Mikefowlers - FORMER SUBSCRIBER - December 26, 2019, 01:10:46
AnkaTracker

I've been paying subscription for more than 14 years. I'm seriously considering to give up on you, Ankama.

Since mid-November, when launching Dofus (not retro) via the, ahem, Launcher, Dofus complains about being `Unabled to load  file://data/i18n/i18n_fr.d2i` and the loading process gets stuck at 56%. I'm playing the game in English. It shouldn't need that file. I have `data/i18n/i18n_en.d2i`. I also have the corresponding Dutch and Russian files. Not sure why. Anyway, I've gone through numerous attempts to

• clear the cache
  • "Repair" (every second time or so, this makes launching Dofus pop up a little window stating "Adobe Air This application requires a version of Adobe AIR which cannot be found." I let it "Repair" again, Dofus at least begins to load to 56%.)
  • use links to trick Dofus into thinking that the file exists, (problem: Dofus complains "Start Dofus without going through the updater is not advised and could cause malfunctions. I need to authenticate once again to the dofus client. The Launcher is stuck launching. I need to quit it each time I want to launch another char. Yep, that's typing in only 16 sets of credentials for running 8 chars.)
  • switch languages in the Launcher and in the game to French and back,
  • copy `data/i18n/i18n_fr.d2i` back when it's deleted by yet another "Repair", (with that file in place the game is inevitably in French)
  • deleted both the launcher and the entire zaap directory. After a fresh install: exactly the same problems.
  • Oh, and Mac OS X agrees that "Ankama Launcher needs to be updated" prompting me to jump through hoops to "open it anyway".

tl;dr
The Ankama Launcher is a disgrace. Stop looking for the wrong language file. It's not hard. And then fix the other bugs.
0 0
First Ankama intervention